Fair Housing Act

  • January 30, 2016
  • By: Greenpath Financial Wellness

The Fair Housing Act Bans Discrimination for Housing

According to the Fair Housing Act, no one may take any of these actions based on prejudice:

  • Refuse to rent or sell housing.
  • Refuse to negotiate for housing.
  • Make housing unavailable.
  • Deny a dwelling.
  • Set different terms for a sale or rental.
  • Provide different services or facilities.
  • Lie that housing isn’t available.
  • For profit, persuade owners to sell or rent.
  • Deny anyone membership linked to the sale or rental of housing.
  • Refuse to make a mortgage loan.
  • Refuse to give information about loans.
  • Impose different terms or conditions on a loan. This includes interest rates, points, or fees.
  • Discriminate during appraisal.
  • Refuse to purchase a loan.
  • Set different terms for purchasing a loan.

You have options when it comes to housing. It is illegal to threaten or interfere with anyone using a fair housing right.

If you would like the support of a housing specialist to help you navigate the home-buying process, GreenPath housing advisors can help.

Call now to talk to a housing advisor